Create a PAX PSM

Summary

I am a Senior Product Manager at Paxos and lead our DeFi efforts. We propose extending Paxos Standard’s [PAX] involvement in Maker through creating a PAX PSM to diversify DAI collateral and increase DAI trustworthiness. We discussed this proposal with the Maker Growth team and welcome feedback from the community.

DAI is 30% collateralized by USDC which creates a single point of failure in the Maker protocol. More than 60% of DAI is generated by USDC deposits. USDC has been coming under increasing regulatory and community pressure due to its treasury decisions; over 25% is non-government, third-party debt, which introduces liquidity, credit, and interest risk.

Given it’s beneficial for Maker to reduce USDC exposure, we believe PAX is the safest and most practical stablecoin to collateralize DAI due to its liquidity, scale, transparency and regulation. PAX is 100% backed either by US dollars held in fully segregated, bankruptcy remote accounts at insured depository institutions or in short term government securities (i.e. US Treasury Bills). Monthly attestations which can be found on our website. Both Paxos and PAX are regulated by a prudential regulator, the NYDFS. This regulation makes PAX more secure in that we are better positioned in the event of potential US stablecoin regulations because PAX has a prudential regulator, unlike other leading stablecoins.

As part of our proposed partnership with Maker, we plan to add DAI support on our platform, which means that Paxos Crypto Brokerage institutional clients (eg PayPal, Venmo, Revolut, etc) will be able to offer DAI to their end users.

Motivation