[Discussion] Making Maker fractionally reserved (originally posted on Reddit)

I’ve been out of the Maker loop for a while now so excuse my ignorance (imagine I wrote “IIRC” in front of every sentence!) if anything here is out of date or just stupid, but here’s something I’ve been mulling over in the shower for a few months:

Why a fractional reserve *might* be a good idea

The TRIBE showed a clear appetite for a fractional reserved stable coin - just the stability mechanism didn’t work. And it now seems like they are proposing backing FEI with DAI… which seems… pointless. Well I had a look at MAKERs collateral stats and $3.5BN of $14.8BN TVL is other stable coins. Put another way: $3.5BN of $6.8BN total supply is backed by stable coins. 23% of Makers collateral is other stable coins and 51% of DAI is backed by stable coins. It does raise the question - is DAI truly an algorithmic stablecoin is 50% of it is ultimately backed by real dollars somewhere?

The other point to add about all this stablecoin collateral is it has a constant cost on Maker/DAI - it all accrues interest through stability fees. I’ve posted before about viewing DAI governance as a PID (proportional, integral, derivative) problem. Through this lens you could see that over the long term, there is some stable “base” demand for DAI. The problem is the only control we have at the minute is the stability fee and we can’t push that negative to inflate the base supply of DAI. (A PID controller would push the lever negative to ‘integrate up’ the supply of DAI). As a result we’ll always have some cost in the system working against DAI…

How fractional do you go?