Given the high gas price environment on L1

Currently, ETH L1 is at full capacity and gas fees are “elevated”. There are currently many L2 solutions coming for scaling, etc.

For discussion purposes, is the objective to keep the core of MKR DSS on L1? or to have zksync for DAI transfers? xdai? or just let the market decide?

Personally, I am just starting to learn the basics of zksync and roll-ups in general. I am curious to get comments from the community on zksync vs xdai. etc… and more importantly how the DAO can use L2 to scale in general.

Further, how the arch. will evolve given a future w/ sharding?

I would also assume the SourceCred team would want to start using this as well given the elevated fees.

Vitalik’s comments on rollups.

zksync.io

3 Likes

My understanding is that for trading assert, market time is very important therefore Dai has to be on L1 but exchange can go on L2 with it.
For normal use Dai can go on L2 that is probably the xdai market.

For the dss the main use is deposit assert withdraw assert, I am not sure how much you can put on L2 as assert are on L1. I am not even sure if there is a lot of traffic. Probably relatively low.

Governance can go on L2 tho.

But that is just a high level view with little inside.

2 Likes

Part of the reason I am asking is that from my understanding and research (which is very elementary now), some of the EVM processing can now be pushed to L2. Curious how that impacts DSS and governance… and how the community can leverage this.

I think we can start thinking about in a Core Unit of L2 solutions, protocols like Uniswap and Synthethix are joining to this solutions (zkRollups, Optimism …) cuz we all know that ETH 2.0 will come in some years, so not having a team focused on take the Maker Protocol to some L2 solutions is just not moving with the flow and being stucked in the ETH mainnet, also leaving asside tons of users with low capital.