Hide the current votes until the outcome is reached

Hi all,

My first post on the forum.

I’m a UX Writer and I’ve been participating in polls and executive votes for a while now-constantly thinking about user experience and MKR holder participation. Nobody should be forced to vote but similarly a small % of voters leaves the system open to manipulation.

One of the problems I’ve had (as well as vote.makerdao.com not being mobile friendly with an increasing number of Web3 browsers available) is how it shows the number of votes already cast for each choice before the user has voted. It’s like going to polling station and seeing that 90% of people in your constituency have already voted for your party’s the opposition.

It makes sense to me that this would discourage people from voting or thinking independently about which way to vote. It’s already hard to keep up with all the weekly changes and get your head around all the 1st, 2nd and 3rd order affects of your choice.

Couple this with immediately seeing your choice has just 0.4% support and it’s likely to be very discouraging, not just for that vote but long term. because what’s the point. And if enough people think ‘what’s the point’ then that could change the outcome before the vote has even gotten started.

I would propose we change the interface so that the outcomes aren’t shown until after the vote is over. While you could argue this is less transparent, those particularly interested in how the vote is shaping up before the cast their own vote could query the network. 3rd party voting platforms could also opt to show if they want.

I briefly thought about showing it after the user casts their vote but with the ability to change your vote this could defeat the object.

What do you think?

3 Likes

My two cents is that i don’t really think this is a great idea until we have ranked choice voting in place.