Makerdao Hiring Proposal

Any job compensation should be based on the supply and demand. Except a few critical software engineering, law and moderators roles, every other positions could be filled by part time contractors done at 10 to 15 dollars per hours. As an engineering professional myself, i certainly would enjoy getting pay while playing banker in my spare time. Makerdao should contract a human resource company to list out all the positions at $10-20, and get a feel of the supply pool. Contract gig could be used as trial for full time roles if required.

4 Likes

Several CUs regularly advertise for contributors who do get paid. See for example this tag and this recent thread.

However, note that a lot of these roles are more day-to-day tasks such and wouldn’t quite be the same as “playing banker”. Those more critical roles are either decentralized (e.g. voting to raise/lower rates which is done by MKR holders) or are specialized and require full-time CU employees (such as protocol engineering).

Sir? $10-$15? You don’t think part-time contactors deserve more than what California & NY might consider wage discrimination, eh? Interesting. Now I know where that McDonald’s Crypto Meme comes from :laughing:

10 Likes

The burger places hire same day for $15/hour here, and I’m not in a big city. Just for reference.

I do agree we need a stronger culture of cost control, however. But we need more professionalization and less semi-volunteerism. The latter may be cheaper, but it makes the DAO pretty fragile in a lots of ways that simply paying (or even overpaying) for quality will not.

4 Likes

In Venezuela no job is 15$ per hour, the minimum wage is 3$ per month :v.

I think you should also consider the country context of the hired people.

Obviously life in Venezuela is very expensive being one of the cities like Caracas one of the most expensive in the region.

2 Likes