Research-Driven Insights About DAO Governance

Hi everyone,

My name is Andy Hall, I’m a political economy professor at Stanford where my lab studies how to build effective systems of democratic governance. I’m also an advisor in tech where I work on solutions to online governance problems. I’ve become interested in blockchain governance and “DeGov,” and have started to study these topics academically. Through this research I have been drawn to Maker as a particularly successful example of DAO governance.

Over the past several months, I have been lurking a bit on this forum, chatting with some of you on Discord, and working with @0xdeniz to study Maker governance.

Goal: Explore Research-Driven Insights for Maker Governance

Our goal is to see if insights from the long-running study of “physical-world” governance are relevant for DAO governance and can help Maker as it thinks about new governance solutions in the context of the clean money vision, the Sagittarius engine, and the natural evolution of the DAO.

Having done some early thinking, we thought it was a good time to bring the project to the community and get thoughts from people who might be interested before developing potential next steps.

Three Central DAO Governance Challenges

After looking at governance from many angles, we have homed in on three central challenges to effective decentralized governance:

1. Aligning incentives. Aligning the incentives of the Maker workforce with MKR holders, as @rune discussed in depth here.
  2. Participation. Increasing MKR holder participation in governance, as @0xdeniz discussed here.
  3. Information and expertise. Making smart, informed decisions about complex, technical issues in a context where most MKR holders are unlikely to have the necessary time or expertise. (This issue is raised in many forum discussions including the discussion linked above in item 2.)