Some Keeper-related questions

I am completely new to Ethereum development. In an effort to fund my further studies, I am designing a Keeper bot. I have implemented nothing; I am starting by laying out a basic set of behaviors that I want my bot to exhibit based on certain criteria, a diagram for how the program will function. For this, I kindly ask the community for some information:

1. When my bot receives a deposit of Ether from its owner, I want it to do one thing; when it wins an auction and the purchase is Ether, I want it to do a different thing. When an auction completes, how is the purchase delivered to its new owner? Is there a way to differentiate it from someone just sending Ether to the bot?

2. Is there a cost to losing an auction aside from the gas used to bid?

3. Is the bidder notified if they lose an auction?

4. I’m a bit unclear as to how these Keeper bots work. Are they smart contracts? Are they scripts that you’d run on a node? What are their limitations?

1 Like

The liquidation 2.0 system that is currently under design will be much more liquidator friendly (and easier to implement a bot for).
I am not sure about the timelines for it though.
From my experience it takes few weeks to build a bot for the liquidation 1.0 (now 1.2) system.
So you might want to wait, or start working on the 2.0 immediately.

I guess you should check already implemented auction keeper.

I am not aware of any other implementations.

I am not certain if you understand how ethereum works. It probably makes sense to invest few days in reading yellow paper, understanding transactions fields on etherscan etc…

Blockchain can’t magically notify you. Client (web3 library) monitors transaction’s EVM logging (events).